Newbie needs a heads up on a 94 SPX

Status
Not open for further replies.

jr86

Hello all,

Well I am idiot, again. I just bought a '94 SPX off of Ebay sight unseen as a project for my son and I to work on for the new season. The donor for carangel states he was told by a mechanic "one of the heads"(huh?) is bad. I am an accomplished mechanic and I just wanted to know of the main problems you guys have seen with this model.

If the engine has popped, any recommendations for upgrades would be appreciated.

James

Welcome to the seadoo forum James. I don't remember any specific problems with the 94SPX that i recall. I would do the basics and go from there. Check compression, spark, fuel and cold beer, lots of cold beer. I really don't think this model is any different from all the rest, concerning problems. If you need a authentic seadoo repair manual, you might want to look into being a premium member. Click on the "seadoo Manuals" link at the top of the page for details. This way you can have specs for the engine, diagrams and test data needed in the repair for that specific model. If we can be of any more assistance give us a shout and we'll do our best. This forum is a very friendly place with many active members eager to help out.
Karl

I have retrieved it. Apparently the engine stopped while riding, he restarted it and it ran for only a little while. The "mechanic" pulled a plug and told him one of the heads were damaged. He believes he has bad info, but he is unsure.

I did not see the service manuals covering this vehicle. Before I buy the membership I wanted to make sure I had access to the correct manual.

I guarantee you the manual you need is in the Premium section. I just looked it up and this is what I found for you. No links or anything like that, but it shows you that the manual is there.

"1994 Sea Doo Shop Manual
From Bombardier, Shop Manual for 1994 Sea-Doo SP, SPX, SPI, GTX, GTI, XP, Explorer PWC.

Notes:
Wiring Diagram Included.
320 Pages
63.2 MB