Top end kits

Status
Not open for further replies.

vbxp94

Pwc newbie here, but I am not new to motor internals. I got a 94 xp with the rotax 657 motor...

The ski was running but there was a leaking gasket, the previous owner tried to fix it and couldnt so he gave it to me. So here is the deal, when the guy went to take the head/head cover off he broke a bolt off in the jug. That's easy, I figure I can remove the broken bolt and retap the hole. The same cylinder has a small piece broken off at the bottom of the sleeve. Insides of the cylinders also look like they could be honed. I figure while its apart I might as well freshen up the motor. So I am looking into a top end rebuild kit. Any suggestions as to who to send it to? I have seen a bunch of places online and on ebay, but are any reliable? I figure I am going to have to have someone resleeve the one and send them both to properly fit the pistons. Or if I can find a used jug & sleeve to replace the screwed up one. Any help/info would be appreciated!

Sorry for the long post!

Parts?

Welcome to the forum. Glad you've come in for a visit. We may be able to help you.
You sound like your very knowledgeable with the upper end of your motor. But here's an idea. Most owners now, use websites that deal in new and refurbished parts. At some point, the work involved in rebuilding the engine yourself without all the specialized tools, isn't worth the hassle. Do a google search on "SBT". They deal in PWC engines and specialize in OEM engines, cranks, pistons and all the gaskets you'd need to replace what's wrong.
If the heads show any signs of age related stress, you may waste your money trying to buff, hone and only replace a couple of the parts.
Find the website, look them over. I think you'll find them to have good parts for cheap prices.

:agree: That is the best way to go...Let us know what you decide. If we can help give us a holler back.
Karl