Pulling 2 people on a tube

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all. I'm brand new to PWC's and just bought an '03 GTX Supercharged last week. We just took it out for the first time this weekend. What a blast!

Anyhow, we tried (2 of us on the ski) pulling 2 people on a tube. I don't know whether this is a bad idea or not. I couldn't get the ski to go more than about 5-6mph for 20-40 seconds or so. The load just had too much drag, I think. At any rate, I tried both varying throttle and steady throttle (around 6krpms) and neither seemed better than another. We did this 3-4 times.

Each time the ski would eventually accelerate beyond 6mph and then easily cruise at a fast enough speed (25-30mph) to tow the tube. The trouble is just getting it going!

Is there a particular technique for launching with this kind of load?

Is this too big a load to be pulling? (Is it too hard on the motor??)

Thanks in advance!

Hi all. I'm brand new to PWC's and just bought an '03 GTX Supercharged last week. We just took it out for the first time this weekend. What a blast!

Anyhow, we tried (2 of us on the ski) pulling 2 people on a tube. I don't know whether this is a bad idea or not. I couldn't get the ski to go more than about 5-6mph for 20-40 seconds or so. The load just had too much drag, I think. At any rate, I tried both varying throttle and steady throttle (around 6krpms) and neither seemed better than another. We did this 3-4 times.

Each time the ski would eventually accelerate beyond 6mph and then easily cruise at a fast enough speed (25-30mph) to tow the tube. The trouble is just getting it going!

Is there a particular technique for launching with this kind of load?

Is this too big a load to be pulling? (Is it too hard on the motor??)

Thanks in advance!