New member - bought a '95 speedster - could use some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

shrug

hey gang,

my name is kyle, im from just outside philadelphia, PA. i just picked up a '95 speedster for what i believe was an absolute steal. i know there are people who are going to warn those new to watercraft away from the speed/sportster, but i have literally wanted one for 19 years (im 31). im new to watercraft ownership but far from new to them in general. been in/on many different boats and pwcs and am very comfortable with operating jet drives. also ive been working on, swapping, and rebuilding engines my whole life, so im very comfortable doing all my own work. its more the rotary valve system as well as the driveline/pumps that ill need help with (so basically eveything other than the engines lol).

the hull is in remarkably good shape for its age, nicer than my '91 F-150. i found a registration from 2003 under the "hood" in the cockpit so im guessing thats when it was last in the water. i like old vehicles. im a computer/electronics nerd and thats exactly why i like older vehicles. anyway the guy was selling because he didnt have time to fix it, the usual. it said in the ad one of the engines probably needs to be replaced. i accounted for this in my offer, even though from my experiences buying dirt bikes/quads and cars, ads will say it has to be towed and ill get it running in the persons driveway and drive it home (after i paid and we transferred the title, much to their dismay).