Need Help! 05 Seadoo RXP - top speed 5 mph!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nitehawkix999

Hi everyone, I am hoping to get some good advice. I am not a mechanic nor do I know anything about repairs just to say first off. I have a 05 Seadoo RXP with about 75 hours on it. We only used it a couple times a year and kept it in good shape otherwise. It was last ran in April 2011 and ran perfectly all day. In May, about a month later we tried to take it out again, however now it would not go over 5mph even at full throttle. The more gas you give it, it just got louder and louder and shook pretty badly. We took it back out of the water and parked it until now when we took it to a mechanic to get it fixed. So far we have been told the steering assembly needs to be replaced - this may be true since the handles will not turn now. Otherwise we have been told the supercharger needs to be rebuilt. These two things with labor were quoted at 900 - 1000 total. Now we are being told this may not even fix the problem and that the engine is knocking severely - which will require a rebuild or replacement to the tune of 3 - 4k! Personally I think this is crazy since its still in like new condition over all and we hardly ever even use it - wondering how all these problems can appear while it is parked on a trailer??? I am starting to get the feeling this mechanic is taking us for a ride big time, however if anyone can offer any helpful advice it would be greatly appreciated. Due to the birth of our second child, we only intend to sell it anyway and were trying to have it in top condition prior to putting it up for sale.