Hand Cranking?

Status
Not open for further replies.

balleng

So I'm checking my 1993 GTX and at this point I'm almost certain that the starter is bad.

But I want to make sure that the engine isn't seized. I'm NOT experienced with PWC, but I found where the engine can be cranked by hand (directly behind the motor under the plastic cover, right?).

My question is: how hard should it be to turn the crank? I can turn it, but it requires a decent amount of force. It doesn't spin freely or anything. What does this mean?

Is there any other method than just grabbing it with my hand and turning it?

Please advise.

with the spark plugs out... it should spin relatively free. If they are in... you will fight the compression.

yup that sums up the situation exactly...

with the plugs in its pretty difficult to turn, but without them its pretty easy

does this mean that the engine is NOT seized?

If the engine is seized, it either won't spin by hand counterclockwise or it is real hard to rotate. You should do a compression test to see what is going on inside the engine.

Compression Check​