Compression numbers and carb help

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikey12

I just picked up a 99 gtx with the 951 in it and 166 hours. It had been sitting a couple years with no stabilizer. I was able to fire it up with old gas and a little starting fluid to help. It ran and idled no problem. I am going to run some fresh gas and seafoam in it. Any other suggestions? Should I go ahead and clean the carbs or do you think since it idled ok, to just run it?

I checked the compression after i ran it for 30 seconds. One was 105 and the other was 100. I know this may be low, but will it still operate in water ok? I am new to these type of engines/machine so any help or suggestions would be good.

Also, there is a tube coming out the back top left of the prop. Looks like you can connect a hose. Is this where you can start it with water in your driveway?

How you check to make sure the oil pump is working ok? Does anyone just premix the gas to be safe?
Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.
Nice ski. :)
The compression should be close to 135 on a 951motor. So yours is way low....did you check it at WOT position?
Yes, that is the flush connection in the back...see my thread and also Dr Honda's one on a fuel filter.
change out any grey fuel lines for black auto lines and YES clean the carb, esp the little filter inside....I sent mine to Dr. Honda.

I wouldn't use Seafoam or any other detergent additive on a 2 stroke motor.

give me a minute to find the thread links.....

http://www.seadooforum.com/showthre...e-adapter-pics&p=296896&highlight=#post296896

http://www.seadooforum.com/showthread.php?33749-How-To-Adding-an-in-line-filter&p=276813#post276813

Last edited by a moderator:
Compression sounds low should be near 130. Your tester usually test low?

I recommend redoing the carbs and fuel lines if you dont know the history. #1 killer of seadoo motors.

Yes that hook up is for the hose.