any reptile owners ( pythons)?

shucky

I've got a childrens python that seems to be a picky eater the crazy thing wont eat any solid while mice or rats, they have to be in some sort of colour mixture I'm just wondering if anyone else that may have these sort of reptiles has the same issue? ( yes this sounds crazy to me) but its just the way he is :).

DSCN0082a.jpgSkin him, tan him and use as a hatband. Sorry, I could not help myself here. Am not a snake person, but little gopher snake found on my property is my friend; they take care of rodents so I protect them as I can. This one is about 1/4 size of one I found a year or so before. Very pretty snake, looks like some predator took off a piece of his tail.

Ha, ha, ha, hatband!

Shuky, I'm thinking your snake can't see his prey if it's white? I would never have expected this though, I bet he eats if he gets hungry enough and maybe then he learns to go by smell instead of color?

Anyway, I have no experience with pet snakes myself, just the wild black racer types that crawl into my garden tool cart to eat the newborn mice. These snakes can smell them from a good distance, or perhaps hear them I'm not sure. But in spring immediately after the mice are born in that cart these black snakes come out of the woods and get them without delay.

Snake Joke: Jimmy the old snake went to see his optometrist.

"Doc, I need something for my eyes," explained Jimmy. "I can't see well these days." The optometrist fixed Jimmy up with a hip pair of horn-rimmed glasses and told him to come back in a couple of weeks for a follow-up visit."

Twp weeks later Jimmy returns: "I'm very depressed, doc," Jimmy complained.

"What's the problem?" asked the optometrist. "Didn't the glasses help you?"

"The glasses are fine," Jimmy wailed. "But I just discovered I've been sleeping with a water hose the past two years!

Last edited by a moderator:
lol @ hatband