4 stroke vague questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

olymon

I'm just getting started on trying to help a friend make his Sea Doo perform like I know it can. This is a newer four stroke, not sure of the model :ack: It is white, red, and black. Name is ??? 150 ??? I know, not much help, wish I knew more.

First things first, what rpm should the 4 strokes be running? his only reaches 5400rpm max. The tach goes to at least 8000 rpm so I know it's got to run higher, seems way too low. Plugs are brand new so I really can't check plug color.

Looks like the throttle opens all the way. He does have some kind of tank set-up on the back that fills with water so the thing can make a bigger wake for tubing. I checked that and it was empty(added weight).

Any key places to look.

I'd appreciate any help the forum can offer

Speedster Wake

The boat your friend has is most likely a Speedster Wake. It should definately rev higher than 5400 RPM....more in the 7000 ballpark if its naturally aspirated and closer to 8000 if supercharged. More details would probably be required in order for this problem to be solved.

Edit: Is it a Seadoo boat or a PWC? I Just realized that you might be talking about a Seadoo Wake rather than the Speedster Wake. If so the 150 you would be talking about is likely 155hp, which would mean that it is naturally aspirated and should rev over7000 RPM the lmiter would kick in at 7650.

Hope this is of some assistance

Matt

Last edited by a moderator:
The boat your friend has is most likely a Speedster Wake. It should definately rev higher than 5400 RPM....more in the 7000 ballpark if its naturally aspirated and closer to 8000 if supercharged. More details would probably be required in order for this problem to be solved.