1996 Seadoo GSX - Fuel/Oil Display reading low always

Status
Not open for further replies.

ochi

Hello. I am new to this site, thanks to my friend Laze who told me to come register here because it is a very useful site.

I have a problem with my 96 seadoo gsx and I want to find out how I can go about fixing it. My fuel & oil display reads that the tanks are always low even when i fill up to the top. I'm no mechanic but my guess is some type of sensors in the tank not giving the correct reading?

Would I need to change the wiring harnesses to the digital display or only some sensor in the tanks? Please let me know why my display isnt reading correctly. I would appreciate it so I can have my friend tackle this. :confused:

sensor....

Your right, it sounds like your tank float is sticking. There is a float in a tube, with a set of magnets on it, when the fuel rises, the ohms changes, sending a signal that changes your fuel reading.
I don't know how hard it's going to be to get to, buy on the fuel pick up tube, you'll need to loosen the bottom clamp and pull the fuel baffle tube out. It should be at least 12 inches long, so make sure you have the clearance. Then, once it's out. Look on the bottom of the tube. You'll see, on the sides at the bottom, a little hole where you can stick a small nail (brad) or a paper clip to release the bottom cap. When you do, look inside. You'll see a long cicuit board looking thing and your float. Dump it up and tap to make the float come out. There should be some magnets (4 I think) on the sides. Their small and round. If they are dirty, clean them. Also, you'll want to put the float in a cup of water to make sure it floats.
Inspect everything you can and after cleaning, put it back together. Before you put it in the boat. You can set up the ohms on a multi tester and see what the readings are when you tip the tube up and down, the reading should go up and down also to show it's getting a good signal.