Keep oil injection or not.

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am Brand New to WaterCraft Fun. I just purchased a 1990 Seadoo Spi 580. The previous owner started to remove the oil injection pump and install a type of block off plate kit. I bought it with the oil pump removed. But the conversion was never finished. Should I put it back to stock with the oil injection operative or install this kit I received with the ski and illiminate the oil injection system? I Appreciate any advice. Thanks.

The SeaDoo pump is reliable. If it's all there, test the pump by hooking a drill to it, and check the output. If it's OK... clean the tank out, put on some new hoses and filter... and put it all back on the engine.

Not to mention... even if you go pre-mix... you still have to leave the tank in the hull to give the rotary valve gears a supply of oil.

The only watercraft I recommend removing the oil pump from is Yamaha. They seem to have issues with the pump failing, or the system plugging up.

Oil Injection

Dr Honda. Thank You for you Knowledgable & Sound advice. I surfed this web site last night for about 2 hours and have seen you have helped numerous people. I Thank You again for your advice. I am going to do exactly what you said. I will test the pump. and if Ok? it will go back on with New hoses and clean fresh oil. Does Wal-Mart sell any type of oil that I could use in this ski? How about the Pennzoil oil they sell for skis? Thank You again.

Seadoo's need API-TC oils. Do not use TC-w3 oils. Some Wal-Marts sell "Quicksilver PWC" oil. (don't use any of the other Quicksilver, or oils that say for outboard engines)

Most likely, they won't have anything you can use, and you will need to go to your local SeaDoo dealer to get oil.

Hi,