VTS Nut wrench

Note: This site contains eBay affiliate links for which SeaDooForum.com may be compensated
Status
Not open for further replies.

Seadoobuddy

Premium Member
Premium Member
I have a 99 GSXL and the VTS rod end broke off. I got a used one from Nick and today I asked him if the Seadoo VTS socket tool was needed. He replied that it is but most people make a wrench out of PVC. I somewhat remember a thread on this subject.

Am I correct to assume the nut is on the outside of the hull? Where does the boot go?....the diagram really doesn't show where.

I'm in Michigan right now but will be going to FL to visit my ski in about 10 days, Hopefully for a ride too....somewhere.
After looking at the diagram it looks very easy to replace but I've never done it before.

http://partsfinder.onlinemicrofiche...a=76&b=19&c=0&d=-PROPULSION-SYSTEM---INTERNAL

I see that part #27 is threaded onto the motor spline. Is the nut #32 on the outside of the hull?
Can the clamps #9&10 be reused once removed?
Anyone in Bradenton area have the PVC tool?
What size is the nut? it says M27....which means what?....27 MM? If so that's a whopper of a nut. :)

Thanks for any help. This is the only VTS unit I've ever worked on.

Any suggestions?

1"-1/4 ABS pipe. Heat the end up with a bernz-o-matic or a paint stripper (heat gun), and jam it on the nut and wait a minute, then twist. The piece I have is about 3' long with a 90 on the other end like a handle.

156.jpg
157.jpg

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk

OK I assume it can be found at Lowes or Home depot. Did you glue a T joint to the other end then add a little of pipe to both sides of the T?