Warranty vs rebate??

Status
Not open for further replies.

yelg

I am new to the sea doo world and am in the process of purchasing a 2008 GTX (215) and had a question regarding warranty. Sea Doo is offering a 3 yr warranty or $1000 back on the machine and I am unsure of what the best option is. I will be using the machine in saltwater, storing it inside and hopefully using it at least 50hrs per year.

Do these machines have alot of problems in the first 3yrs if they are properly taken care of (flushed, regular service etc.)? The warranty is great piece of mind but may not be worthwhile if these machines are extremly reliable.

Any suggestions would be appreciated?

Thanks in advance

I think you answered your own question...you have to decide with a flip of a coin. I sell extended warranties in my automotive business...but I would never purchase one. Not for a dryer, washer or anything else for that matter. This is just my personal opinion.

Karl

Go with the extended warranty. $1000 won't even scratch the surface of the repair cost if anything sh!ts itself on that engine or supercharger.

The 4-stroke engines are a way different animal than the 2-strokes that are more simple to repair. Repairs to the 4-stroke engines likely require the complete removal of the engine. Don't get me wrong, the 4-strokes are less likely to break down than a 2-stroke, but the repair costs are going to be way more.

That's a lot of rambling, but I vote for the extended warranty.

I think you answered your own question...you have to decide with a flip of a coin. I sell extended warranties in my automotive business...but I would never purchase one. Not for a dryer, washer or anything else for that matter. This is just my personal opinion.

Karl
:agree:I have heard this from other very smart people. [wise investors]

Not sure about how the new 4TECs go, but with the original 2-strokes I would go with extended warranty without hesitation.