Two Doo's with Problems and General Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

SeaDooNewb

I am an accomplished auto mechanic (self professed) :) but have never worked on any watercrafts. My in-laws recently picked up a couple used Sea Doos; a 2003 GTX and a 1996 Bombardier SPX. Took them out for the first time over the holiday weekend and the '96 would idle fine and putter along fine but it just bogs down when you try to give it more than ~1/8 throttle. IF you let it idle in the water for a few seconds and then give it some throttle, RPMs come up and it gets up out of the water like it should for ~1 second and then goes back to bogging. Tried changing plugs with the appropriate cross referenced Denso's (it had NGK's in it) but did not gap them and there was no change in behavrior.

The 2003 was running well the first day but we decided to change the plugs on it too for good measure (again, stock gap). It ran ok for the first jaunt and got progressively worse as the day went on to where it would just not pick up RPM's.

I'm going to become premium to DL the manuals and that should point me in the right direction for troubleshooting but had some general questions first:

Is it OK to run the skis out of water for long periods (5-10 minutes) as long as their hooked up to the hose?

What type of diagnostics tool(s) will I need and how much do they run?

Is there a general troubleshooting method commonly used?

Any other tips for a first time PWC wrencher?

TIA

Bill

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Question (1)
Is it OK to run the skis out of water for long periods (5-10 minutes) as long as their hooked up to the hose?
You can run them safe on tickover for short periods with the hose pipe running. But beware of a runaway engine. Sometimes the engine can runaway with its self at high rpm's.This is called dieseling. Very scary.