Sportster electrical problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hello all, I am new to the seadoo jet boat experience and recently purchased a 2000 sportster LE last week. I put it in the water the first time on the weekend and it worked great on Saturday. Sunday morning I tried to fire it up and there was no power to the blower, bulge, starter. However, the fuel gauge did indicate the fuel level but once I put a load on the system the power to the gauge fell off.

I thought it was a problem with the battery, so I changed it with another, however, I had the same problem.

Next, I opened up a black box which receives the wires from the battery switch and it was flooded. This box houses the wires for the starter and supplies wires to a grey square plug on the outside of the box - right hand side (not sure what this is but I am assuming it sends power to the blower, ignition, lights, etc. This electrical plug was also wet. I was successful in jumping the starter wires directly and the engine did turn over, so it isn’t a problem with the battery or the switch.

Now, the power to the fuel gauge is not working with or with the key.

So here are my questions.

#1 is it common for this wiring box to take on water? It looks like it has been flooded before given the clay on the bottom and sides of the box.

#2 to solve this problem do I only need to dry the box and grey electrical plug or do I need to check all the wire connection in the box (and external fuses) to see if there is a short in the wiring.

Any thoughts/advice?

....Flooding?

This box is suppose to be sealed from the water. Although your ignition coils and solenoids can be dried out and like you said, you jumpered across the solenoid and the engine turned over, the wires leading from that box go up front to your mpem (multi purpose electronic module). This is the brain for your Doo. There are fuses on this that need to be checked. Disconnect your battery leads.