Shore-To-Ship power?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sako7STW

I am going to be installing a whole new setup for my power supply. First I am going to install 2 high capacity batteries that will be dedicated to the stereo, the third will be a battery just for the boat. The charge for the motors will be split via the battery isolating relay. Then I am going to install a onboard 3 bank 4 stage battery charger. I want to be able to simply plug my boat in to an external socket that's permanently on the boat that the cord plugs into. I think it is commonly called Ship-to-shore or Shore-to-ship. Has anyone done anything like this? Whee do you find parts to do this this stuff?

Hey,

This is very common for fishing boats. I recently installed one on a fishing boat for a friend. (i am new to sea-doo boats, but old school regular).

Look at BassPro - Onboard Chargers - I just bought a 2-bank battery charger for my speedster (not installed yet - but should not be difficult). I would recommend looking into them because they have great customer service (at least here in TN at the store they do).

I think mine is the XPS iT 4/4 - there are mulitple ones. Just choose the one for your application!

Remember, you will need to hook each bank to a seperate battery. Do not try and hook a charger up to a parallel set of batteries as one bank. I have a wiring diagram so far what i am doing in my twin speedster.

Just hook each lead up to every battery you have - great stuff!

boat schematic.jpg