RX DI issues + absolute beginner advice

seadoobear

Hi,

I'm new to the sport and we got a used 2001 RX DI. Since we had no time at all, it has been standing in the garage for two years until this spring. Now that we can take it out, we encountered some issues and I'd like to ask some questions that are swirling in my head.

The situation:

- When I bought it, it ran fine and showed no issues, it did, however, rest in our garage for two winters with freezing temperatures. We didn't specifically empty the water with pressure, though (please remember: we just had boats so far which naturally drain if lifted out of the water).

- When tested it in the spring, it was still cold. It immediately started, ran for 15 seconds and died. Restarting it didn't work. Cranking but no successful ignition. When I tried to call a repair shop, they told me to f' off with my "old junk". Fair - but as an East-German citizen, I really like 2-strokes 🙃 .

- Since the fuel was old and the battery was really shitty, I now changed the battery. That made it start immediately on the trailer. I also changed the fuel, out of precaution. (E5 95 octane - is 98 or 101 octane better?). Spark plugs are okay, they look like it runs a but rich, though (black residue on insulator but not excessive).

- We ran it yesterday and it started fine multiple times and ran great for hours. 90 km/h tops. Switching it off midway and restarting, however, sometimes lead again to cranking with no successful ignition. Sometimes it worked fine. I did, however, just have a 20 Ah LiFePO4 battery with some tiny wires and a 50A Anderson plug. One time, after normal start, the red LED started blinking, and the display showed some weird text. Nothing that the manual describes or I could decipher. It stopped after 10 sec or so.