Oil leaks and changing oil types.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bflauto

Questions about changing oil types...
Newbie here, tried searching but didnt really find answers yet..
So Im going over a new (to me) 96 GTX. I noticed an oil puddle in the hull. It looks to be the grommet on the bottom of the oil tank.
I replaced it this afternoon. There is a bunch of oil left in th hull that I will need to clean up.
So a couple questions..
1. I noticed that I have blue oil. I've read on some forums that I MUST use BRP XPS 2 synthetic or else my engine will explode and everyone will laugh at me. (Not really but you get the point). So i'd like to swap over to the appropriate oil. How nit-picky must i be to get rid of all the blue oil? If i have a teaspoon of oil left in the tank will it be ok to mix with XPS-2?
2. I plan on replacing the oil lines while i'm at it. I've read all about bleeding the lines but havent found any videos of anyone doing it. Do folks take off their carbs to get to the oil line on the left side of the engine (when facing front of ski)? If so, do i need to replace gaskets?
3. The fuel is also currently pre-mixed with blue oil as well. Do i need to completely drain this fuel when i swap over to XPS-2, due to "mixing oil types" being a bad thing?
4. Any tips or tricks for cleaning up the oil in the hull without removing fuel tank and engine?
5. How to drain the blue oil from the return line?
6. Any other area where the oil must be drained from?
Thanks so much!

1. Yes blue oil is 99.9% of the time the wrong oil and can cause problems. You don't have to use the Seadoo XPS but it needs to be an API-TC full synthetic oil. The tank needs to be cleaned.
2. The only oil lines that need to be replaced are the little 3/32" ones from the oil pump to the intake manifold. You can get the Tygon hose from any mower shop or Home Depot. If you take the aribox and air box base off the carbs you can do it with carbs intact.