Looking at Sea-Doo Boats...

Status
Not open for further replies.

LMychajluk

Hi, all! First post here...

I've been mulling over the idea of buying a boat. I have no boating experience, but am looking to take the ABS course soon to see what I'm getting into. If I decide to go ahead with this, I'll probably want to buy in the fall or winter to have it for next summer.

If I decide to go for it, I'd probably be looking at a late model Speedster or maybe an Islandia (430hp versions). A Challenger SE may be an option, but it could be a tad wide to tow around here on a regular basis (can't seem to find any definitive info on trailers from the DMV or DOT....). I live in NJ, just outside of Manhattan, and would use the boat for cruising with friends around NY Harbor, Hudson River, LI Sound, the NJ coast and maybe some lakes in NY & PA. I'm not into water skiiing, but will probaly want to have some type of inflatable tow toy to play around with, but otherwise, I mainly want it to hang with friends on the water. I may also want to use it for some light fishing now and again (mostly freshwater). As far as I can tell (from my very limited experience), either of these models should be capable of handling these uses. Any comments are welcome, though!