Lake temp sensor, 2 wire or 3 wire?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnviL Man

Just trying to clear a couple things up for my own info. I have an 03' Speedster Bombardier 240 efi and I am trying to figure out if my model has a lake temp sensor? I have been googling trying to find out but I cannot figure out for sure if I have one or not or where it's located if I do have it. The main reason I want to know is because I want to install the candoo gps speed sensor in place of what is there since my speedometer isn't working. The first plug connection from the paddle wheel has two wires on both sides. But, the previous owner mentioned he installed a 3 wire instead of 2 wire to try and fix the speedometer but it didn't work. He said he might've needed to try a different combination of those wires and see if that would get it working but he never did. Anyways, I just want to do away with all that and get the candoo gps one. Just don't know what exactly I need. Here is a pic of that connection.IMG_3915.JPG

The paddle wheel speed sensor is a three wire configuration. Two of those wires is battery power (+12 and ground) with the third wire being signal or pulse to the tachometer input circuitry.
I removed our defective speed sensor and did an autopsy with the black epoxy block area. It's a simple hall effect transistor with a zener diode. The magnets "cut" the field of the hall effect transistor to provide the pulse signal for the third wire.
There is no components for temp sensing.

The paddle wheel speed sensor is a three wire configuration. Two of those wires is battery power (+12 and ground) with the third wire being signal or pulse to the tachometer input circuitry.
I removed our defective speed sensor and did an autopsy with the black epoxy block area. It's a simple hall effect transistor with a zener diode. The magnets "cut" the field of the hall effect transistor to provide the pulse signal for the third wire.
There is no components for temp sensing.