"How a jet pump works"

Status
Not open for further replies.

seadoosnipe

Premium Member
Premium Member
There seems to be a lot of questions about cavitations and what causes it? What can I do about it? Why does my boat loose power when I turn real sharp? Then, the most asked question, why does my engine rev up without the boat moving?

I’ve explained this to a few people but because it seems that most members have noticed it, I’m going to shed a little light on if in a thread.

A boat with an outboard motor uses a propeller to create forward thrust. What ever the speed of the propeller and what the degree is, determines the speed of the boat. A propeller “chops” at the water, digging its way into the water to push itself along its forward path.

A jet boats propulsion system has no comparison with an outboard motors principle of thrust, except that they both are sources of power. From there, it ends.

I’ve done my best to make a little drawing with paint (I’m not an artist, so bare with the drawing) to try and help explain the theory and principles of jet boat thrust.

An axial flow jet pump works more like a compressor. Water enters through the low pressure inlet and is compressed by the impeller as it moves past the stator and into the nozzle. The low pressure inlet is always larger in square inches of space than the outlet nozzle.

The stator has a main purpose that most may overlook; probably wondering what it’s doing in there. But the boat can’t run without it. If it were not there, the torque from the impeller (compressor) would cause the boat to twist to the right from centrifugal force. The stator has a very aggressive blade design that almost completely reverses the direction of water flow. By changing the direction of the flow, it stabilizes the water for even output, removing the centrifugal force of the impeller. But more importantly, by changing that direction, it increases the energy of the fluid movement.