Hi All

Status
Not open for further replies.

z_ries

What's going on dudes and dudettes!

I am new to the PWC world. I just recently purchased a 2006 SeaDoo GTI 130. I found a smoking deal in my opinion. The ski only has 206 hours on it, and it doesn't look like water has touched the bilge. I am excited to get it on the water, but I must admit, I know nothing of PWC. I am hoping that with your experiences and expertise I will be able to solve any problems that I might encounter.

Right now I am looking at finishing up little things, such as new foam on the swim step, dock lines, PWC bumpers, etc.

Look forward to interactions and any tips that you guys and gals can offer to help me have the best experience with my ski!

I've been doing all sorts of reading and "research". I need to find some good bumpers, I have read the "Kwik Tek HH-P1B Hull Hugr PWC Fender" are the best for the value. I have found many speaking highly of them. How long of line do you have for your anchor? Just random questions. I did find a place because of the forum for me to be able to send my U-Bar for my swim step to get new rubber, only $12.

Anchor line length will vary depending on your average depth you travel in. Good rule of thumb is, 10 times your average depth. So 200 feet for 20 feet of water. With a light item such as a ski, this number can be reduced. The match comes from, in calm water you let out 5 to 7 times the depth. Rough water it is 7 to 12 times

I am a Lake Erie boater, if I am in deep water, I will be mooring off another boat. If I am anchoring I would expect that my water would be 4 maybe 5 feet, I was thinking between 25-30, and according to your calculations I would probably be safe. I worry having 50 ft of line, dock lines, bumpers, anchor, etc I will be loaded down...

I did Lake Erie for 40 years. I kept 35 feet of line. In deeper water I always had a boat or other skis around. All that mattered.