HELP 96 787 xp problem running.

Status
Not open for further replies.

96seadooxp

I just recently bought a 96 xp seadoo. with the 781cc engine. I have taken it out 4 or 5 times an its ran fine all until this past weekend. when i took it out if i gassed it more than 1/8th throddle it felt like the motor wasnt bolted in an wasnt going anywhere smoking pretty good also. i figured it was just cold took a really long time to actally start running like normal. ran fine untill i stopped to take a break an chill in the water when i started it back up after 15-20 min same thing. did it a few times also when i slowed down an came to a idle. when i finnaly decided to call it a day an head in it did it again as i was coming back to the dock coulnt get it to act right, killed it an started it back up an it was fine. by that time i was at the no wake sign tho. sorry for the long post trying to explain it the best i can. I'm new to jetski's an this forum.

i also noticed a pin hole in my exaust when i took the seat off water was coming out close to the engine in the fattest part.

im running 93 octane, its stock as far as i know besides a aftermarket intake grate an i think it has a prop. compression test showed 175 in both cylnders an im running the stock oil injection an mixing it like 60/1 untill i get a chance to block the oil injection off. thanks for the help -phil

Last edited by a moderator:
Ok phil...first things first. Welcome to the forum.

Now, get rid of oil injection and run premix only. Unfortunally the oiling systems have too high of a tendency to fail to trust them, especially after 11 years of use.

Ok, you need to check a couple things for us. First, read your spark plugs. What are they telling you? Then, check your spark. Is it healthy and full, or very weak? Next, do a compression test.

Question: how are your motor mounts? Does the ski run healthy once 'warm' or does it still have other symptoms (or did they all go away?).