Hello from Tulsa

Status
Not open for further replies.

CLAYMORE

Hi, Claymore here from Tulsa Ok. New to the Seadoo Jet Boat scene but not new to wrenching... I have an engineering degree and have worked professionally in many fields; Architectural, Structural, Mechanical, Electrical, Manufacturing as well as owning my own business. I currently work for an Architectural firm, check em out a www.ksqarchitects.com if you like, we do some nice work all around the country. I have rebuilt motorcycles, cars and jeeps in the past so my mechanical aptitude is getting better with time.

I bought a 1996 Seadoo challenger 800 off of Craigslist for a LowBall price. It needed everything of course. I was told it had 30 hours on the motor as it was rebuilt due to frozen water crack somewhere. Pistons looked good with a flashlight and nothing looked real bad so I purchased it. Head pressure is almost 150 in each cylinder and the plugs looked to be a good color (baked golden brownish).

I have a shop manual and have gone thru the 4 checklists I can find and have it water worthy now. We took it out last weekend and it ran as good as expected. I had to tighten a few clamps and bail the water with a cup as the bilge pump is dead. This test run proved that the boat was worthy of spending more money on. It runs 50 mph with me, 45mph with two adults and 40 mph with two adults and two kids...not to shabby. Hits about 7000 rpm without issue. High speed jets seem great but the low speed jets may need a poking to clean em up... Smokes like a 2 stroke should and overall ran great.
On our last run in the middle of the lake I apparently sucked up something and the wear ring delaminated, chunks came off of the leading edge. Due to massive cavitation I hobbled back to the dock going only 15 mph....Bummer. Now I will rebuild the jet pump, cause I can't just take it apart to replace the ring, that would not be me.