Beeper/Buzzer for 1997 GSX: How I Did Mine

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've learned a lot from this forum and have a sense of gratitude and because of this I would like to try to give something back. So I'm going to document how I solved the problem of my bad beeper/buzzer, with photos, showing my own "twist", which involves a hot glue gun.

The first thing I did was to decide that I was NOT going to pay $17.50 for the gen-U-ine Floyd Bell OEM buzzer, and then pay another $17.50 for shipping. I started to order the Radio Shack buzzer online, but their website is a disfunctional mess, and it scared me off, so I bought 3 buzzers from the brick and mortar store up the street for less than $20.00. (Two for each of my SeaDoos, and a 3rd as a backup extra.)

Because I have some USMC experience in electronics repair (they taught us to solder to NASA specs), I wanted all the connections to the buzzer to be soldered, and water-tight. So I soldered the wires to the buzzer and then to the SeaDoos wiring harness. Don't have any pictures showing this.

I used two layers of heat shrink. The black standard heat shrink was to act as insulation for the soldered wire connections, and also to fill-out the repaired area because I wasn't sure how tight the red, waterproof heatshrink would shrink.

The red heat shrink was ordered special from eBay ($5.00 for 4 ft.). It has a thin layer of "hot glue" inside it, so that when the heat shrink heats, the glue melts, fills the void inside the heat shrink (with glue) and prevents any water from entering and causing corrosion. I made the red pieces longer than the black pieces so that they would enclose and block off the whole repaired area and make it waterproof, to the greatest extent possible.