97 XP - 787 Rebuild Please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

g_campbell

Hello,

I recently picked up a 1997 XP that needs to be rebuilt really cheap with trailer. So i started tearing into this thing knowing that it needed a top end and really hoping the bottom end would be in good shape. But the previous owner had tore most of it down and saw that it needed a top end and decided to get rid of it. But I had experience rebuilding cars and like I said bought it really cheap so why not? I always wanted one. Well I tore the top end off and wouldn't you know it... the roller bearings dropped into the bottom end!! But the bottom end looks great, no play!! There was one small spot of surface rust that I could get off easy. Is there a trick to getting the metal out of the bottom without cracking the case open? Sorry such a newbie here.

Any help is appreciated!!!

I understand the right way to do it would be to rebuild the bottom end or buy a rebuilt one of SBT, but the bottom end seems great and the cylinder walls didn't even get scored. Also, like I said he basically tore it apart for me as well. I figured all I have to lose is a top end if it fails.

Thanks guy really seems like there's lots of knowledge guys on this forum.

open the crankcase. Its only a few bolts and a gasket, then you can inspect the crank thoroughly.

Okay if I do open the crankcase to just inspect and remove metal? Will that require the flywheel puller to remove the flywheel? Will it also require crankshaft seals? What all is involved? Also, will I have to re-time the bottom end?

To do it correct you will need a flywheel puller and a chain wrench for the rear PTO.
Buy a tube of 1211 sealant and a complete gasket kit with seals.

To do it correct you will need a flywheel puller and a chain wrench for the rear PTO.
Buy a tube of 1211 sealant and a complete gasket kit with seals.

Could it be done without removing the flywheel? And what are you referring to with the PTO?