96 XP backfire and exhaust head pipe issues, HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.

nitiz787

I have a 96 XP that I purchased this spring and I used a few times, having ALOT of fun. This thing FLIES!!! This is my first pwc and though I'm a shade tree auto mechanic, I'm new to 2-strokes and carbs. During my few excursions I've identified a few issues which resulted in me replacing vts fuse and switch and switch cover, crankcase oil return line and clamps, battery, rectifier, new handlebar grips, and the plate that directs water to impeller (replaced plastic junk piece w aluminum one). I've already purchased black fuel lines but that can hopefully wait till winter.
With that said I've had a recent problem. After completing my last repair, crankcase oil return line, and attaching lower exhaust pipe (yes new brass gasket and red high temp sealant was used) I started it in the garage. Kinda hard to start but did and roared!
Went to local dealer, got new battery and oil and started easier and sounded same, no issues.
Put in water, Lake Erie, and first attempt at starting.... huge backfire! Blew out rubber exhaust hose and took on water :(
Dropped off at same dealer, Cleveland power sports, as I felt it was time for a pro to take over.

Ok thanks for listening here's my question, they say I need to spend 350 to get the exhaust head pipe welded due to corrosion that I never noticed on a freshwater ski. Am I being scammed?

Also, any ideas why it backfired?

Should I get my ski back, and rebuild carbs and replace grey fuel lines w the black, which I was hoping could wait till winter?

Thanks for the help!!!!!!!!!