93 Sea-Doo xp rotax 657 will not start

Status
Not open for further replies.

shawnmstout

Hello, im new to the jetski world but not new to the electronics world.
I just bought this jetski today but i got a really good deal on it so i couldnt pass it up.

First I believe I have a bad silenoid but I am not sure what the outgoing voltages are supposed to be on the posts, checked the switch and its good.

Jumping the silenoid does make it crank but it does not start. Does this mean its a bad starter also or is there something else i can test. Might i have to replace the whole mpem or is there further voltage testing I can do. Thanks in advance

I need to know what model schematic i should be looking at.

Jumping posts....

When jumping the post on your soleniod, you will get the starter to engage the engine and spin it over. Good way to make sure the starter or bendix isn't causing any problems. But, without the mpem being signaled to supply power to your ignition system, you'll get no spark for ignition.
Your model number ski is the 5852 and your electrical drawing for the ski is on page 7-01-5 and is a very simple and easy to read drawing.
You should be receiving 12 vdc to the starter, at the post where your red wires are, 12vdc.
If your 5 and 15 amp fuses are o.k. in the electrical box at your mpem, then your problem is most likely going to be a bad switch, either on your stop switch, which is normally closed, the Tether cord, which is normally open, or your starter switch, which is normally opened.
So, go look at your drawing, do continuity test on those switches (I'd test for open and closed circuits) and then, make sure your electrical box fuses are also good.