2024 Sea Doo GTX Problem

kentuckyduke

First Time Jet Ski Owner

I picked up my ski, a 2024 Sea Doo GTX 230, June 20th.

I've had it to the lake one time, just doing the break in routine, puttering around. About 1.5 hrs of use.

I took it back Sunday, and unloaded it. Headed out from the dock and it died. It would restart, and run for 2-3 minutes, before sputtering and stalling out. I'm no mechanic, but felt like it was staving for fuel. It would run normal when restarted, and made normal power before stalling.

I figured out how to look for the codes and it was throwing a -P0232 Fuel Pump Circuit High. It wasn't going to run so I took it home.

Dealer wasn't open until today.

I take it in and start home, they call me in 45 minutes and say it needs a new fuel pump and wireing harness.

And they are back ordered to early mid August!

I try to be a calm guy, but this seems ridiculous.

What should I do?

Well. It sounds like your dealer likes throwing parts at things. What is it ... the fuel pump or the harness? Or, could it be the ECU? I doubt you have a problem with both the harness and the pump. It needs to be diagnosed by someone who knows what they are doing. Now on to you code. A fuel pump circuit high typically means there is voltage in the circuit, but it's not being pulled to ground.

The fuel pump circuit is pretty easy. You have 12 VDC coming into the fuel pump from a fuse 2 (15 amps). When the 30A relay is energized (pressing the engine start button) the ECU wakes up and provides a ground for the pump to operate. Since you have a "fuel pump high" code. the 12 volt side of the circuit (incoming power) is probably OK. What's missing is the ground.

Steps to take:

Check to make sure there is 12 VDC at pin B (Vt/BU wire) on the fuel pump connector (remember you have to wake up the ski for power on this circuit).