2004 Islandia - Can't turn right at high speeds

Status
Not open for further replies.

KenK

I have a 2004 Islandia 240 EFI M2 Jet Drive. At high speeds the Islandia does not turn right, not even a little. It will turn left on a dime but right is a no go. I am guessing that the steering cable is corroded and needs to be replaced.
Before I go and order a new 167.00 dollar steering cable I thought I would run it past the forums to make sure I am on the right track. I studied the manual and looked at the connections and I think that is what it is. But maybe I am missing something and it could be the something else. Has anyone else had an issue like this and is it the steering cable that I need to replace. Also, should I replace anything else for the steering control while I am at it.
Thanks.

What I'm thinking is.... the outer shiv came off of the end of the cable, and its no longer supported. So... going to the right... the cable tries to "Push", and it just flexes.

OR.....

It came out out it's mount, and it pushes away from the pump.

I'd pull the boot away from the cable at the pump end, and look for damage.

Last edited by a moderator:
my steering is weird sometimes... at about %50 throttle by steering pulls to the left every once and a while but at wot theres never a problem... idk if it the wind pushing the boat causing a pulling of the boat one direction or the current i find it weird it comes and goes

Thanks Tony. Just to make sure I am understanding. I have attached a picture of the assembly I am going to pull and look at.
I am guessing the problem is under the bellows and the cable is corroded here. I am not sure what the outer shiv is, could you point me in the right direction on that?
At low speeds she does turn right, but when enough pressure is pushing against the jet at higher speeds, I am thinking the cable is flexing and then won't turn right. Does that sound about right to you?
Steering Assembly Near Jet.JPG

OK... the 2 probs I was talking about: