1998 XP limited Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

malibuman

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to the PW world. I bought this xp limited about a week ago, and i got a great deal on it, it started right up, and ran fine on the trailer,
Well, we went to take it out today. There was some oil in the bottom of the hull, so i decided i didn't want to drain that into the lake, and i got a can of engine degreaser, sprayed it in the bottom of the hull, took a water hose and just flushed it out. after that i started it real quick just to make sure it would fire, and it did,
so we got to the lake, it would start, but would die right away, or if it didn't die right away it would die if tried to rev it up.

I'm a moron when it comes to these things, but i very mechanical,

Any help would be great!!!

Oil!

I think I read in a thread somewhere about oil in the hull. If I remember right, there is some kind of vent on the engine somewhere that can attribute to the oil in the hull.
As far as the engine running and dying, a little more detail would be great. What have you done so far. Take the plugs out to see how they are burning? Do a compression check? Are you using premix or the injection tank? Does the engine run well on land while hooked up to the water hose? If so, how does it respond to the throttle on land, running? When you goose it, does it respond pretty quick? If you haven't checked the compression yet, I think that would be the first place to look.

When i got it i asked him about it, and he said that he changed the oil in the premix injector bottle, and made a mess, and never cleaned it up.

when i got it it ran fine would start up on the trailer and rev no problems

when i got it to the lake it would start, and idle, Sometimes, but would die like the ignition was shut off or a something, checked for fuel flow, and it's got fuel pumping to the carbs,
Checked both plugs, they're both firing a nice blue spark