1997 GSX Won't Run up top unless release throttle and then full, RAVE?

Tfast

I recently purchased 2 '97 GSX (standard) PWC from a friend. Fairly lightly used and well cared for. He was not mechanically inclined and had a local "lake mechanic" maintain them. When you first ride them after not having being ran for a period of time they seem fine down low but won't clean out and run up on top (full throttle'ish). If you release the throttle and then go right to full throttle they then get full power and run fine for the entire ride. He had no idea why and just lived with it.

I am new to these but have worked on lost of 2 strokes, mostly motocross bikes and standup skis. While what the RAVES on it confused me when I first looked at them (I asked my friend and he said they were the carburetors, I said those aren't carbs ... he said, yes they are :0) ) I came to the conclusion that they are basically power valves and look to be a pretty slick design. My guess is that when first being ridden the RAVEs are sticking, hence the choked performance due to low flow through the exhaust, and pumping the throttle full off and then on frees them up for the ride and suspect a good cleaning would fix the issue.

I guess my question is, is this (not running up top) a symptom of a RAVE issue and, if so, is it probably sticky (or sticking) and might cleaning them fix it? Or am I just off base on this? Cleaning them does not look difficult, but any input or advice on that other than the obvious would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Yep, disassemble and clean. The assembly under the exhaust requires, the piston screwed off of the guillotine to remove the guillotine (guillotine “power valve“).