1996 Speedster for $4000 is this a good price, is this this a good product?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ghurty

Hi,

I am new to jet ski/jet boating. I am looking for something to have fun on the water with. No need to go superfast, just fast enough to feel like I am going fast. I am leaning towards a boat vs a ski, because at least initially I would like to get something I can take my wife and little kids with me and the kids cant really hang onto a jetski. I know I am not going to go out on the water every day, and we are looking at a maximum of once a week, so dont want to spend too much money on it.

I found a 1996 Speedster for $4000 including the trailer. The pictures look overall okay, the some of the seats are ripping, but I believe I read online it is not that hard to replace them.

Of course I am going to try to get someone to check out the boat, but for that price is this a okay purchase? Some comments from the add:

"Runs best with only 3 people but I've had 5 people in it before. Once you're planed off it pulls very hard with quick acceleration. Turns really sharp at high speed! It's like a race car on the water. This boat has a waterski pole and makes a small wake, WATERSKIER DREAM

Comes with a beautiful bimini top for some much needed shade during a long day on the water.

We replaced the jet wear rings. And We pretty much did everything else just short of rebuilding the engines.

I have new vinyl for the seats. Haven't had time to install. There are videos and tutorials online to show how to do it.

Comes with BRAND NEW Nauticus Smart Tab trim tabs. Install these and you will be able to put more weight on the boat and plane off faster. Ideally, these are for a faster hole shot for watersking. Never got around to installing. "

Thank you