1989 Sea Doo SP Running Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

dschutt

Im new to the forum and im glad i found it because there looks to be a lot of good info on here. Im a tech in a yamaha, suzuki, ski doo, and arctic cat dealer. Im a motocross guy, just bought my first sled and now i stumbled across a old sea doo and picked it up real cheap (figured id see if i like the pwc thing before i buy a better one). Its a 1989 SD 600SP. Its in great shape but theres a big problem im having. It starts fine and runs good a majority of the time, but when u give it the throttle it starves for fuel and revs up even when u let go. I know its starving for fuel because it has the optional prime kit (replacemeent for choke) and when its reved up and you prime it a time or two, it falls right back down to idle. Heres what ive done so far. Everything i did hjas been done on land with the flush kit. i dont weant to taker it on the water if its going to gernade.

*Replaced all fuel lines (including ones in the tank, they were falling apart and i read online this was a big problem on these)
*Cleaned internal fuel filters, and the external one
*checked one way check valve off tank, as well as trying to run it with the gas cap off, made no difference
*cleaned fuel pump, checked for pin holes in the diaphram
*Cleaned carbs (PITA to get it them off) checked diaphrams as well, along with passage ways and cleaned pilot circut
*tried re routing fuel lines to see if the pump wasnt strong enough to push the fuel through the curve on the bottom
*sprayed starting fluid around all joints and gaskets to check for leaks.

Thius thing has got me stumped. Anything i should double check or anything i missed?

IM TRYING TO GET THE MACHINE READY FOR THIS WEEKEND ANY IDEAS???????????